AA.MEDIA

Architectural Association
Media Studies


AA MEDIA is an experimental testing ground for exploring and interrogating the tools of the discipline – tools with which we speculate, manipulate and play; compute, control and test; communicate, seduce, and provoke.

Acting as both training camp and laboratory, it is a diverse, multidisciplinary program where unexpected collisions and obsessive attention to detail expose a rich seam of creative potential. Media Studies presents an opportunity to develop individual practice, where students hone their dexterity with established and progressive media, actively testing modes of production through focused acts of doing and making.



CONTACT:

Kate Davies
Head of Media Studies
Inigo Minns
Acting Department Head
Oliviu Lugojan-Ghenciu
Lab Coordinator

AA MEDIA
Architectural Association
School of Architecture
36 Bedford Square
London WC1B 3ES

+44 (0)20 7887 4000

CALENDAR

FIRST YEAR
MS-CORE


All MS First Year courses take place on Tuesdays throughout the Autumn and Winter Terms. Attendance to each course is compulsory. Failure to attend may result in a reduction in grade and possible failure in the course. Unit tutors have been informed not to hold any events on Tuesdays scheduled for MS courses, however students must ultimately make sure they do not miss any courses.

Online registration is possible by clicking in the REGISTER/SIGN-UP section of this website. Students will only be able to receive credit for their MS1 course by successfully submitting their bound MSFY Portfolio during the specified date.


Autumn Term [1]

Friday 30th September / Course Introductions (12.30pm, First Year Studio)
Registration will take place online from 5pm Friday 30th September until 12 noon Saturday 1st October.

Monday 3 October / Course Enrolment for Autumn Term to be posted online

For individual course details see course pages here

Tuesday 4 October / Session 1A
Tuesday 11 October / Session 2A
Tuesday 18 October / Session 3A
Tuesday 25 October / Session 4A

Interim submissions will be arranged by your individual course tutor and feedback given as guidance for the March submission.

* AA Open Week [Complementary Courses Suspended]

Tuesday 8 November / Session 1B
Tuesday 15 November / Session 2B
Tuesday 22 November / Session 3B
Tuesday 29 November / Session 4B

Interim submissions will be arranged by your individual course tutor and feedback given as guidance for the March submission.

Tuesday - Thursday 13 - 15 December / Registration for Courses Online, until Thursday 15th 12 noon
Course Enrolment to be posted during the Winter Break


Winter Term [2]

For individual course details see course pages here

Tuesday 10 January / Session 1C
Tuesday 17 January / Session 2C
Tuesday 24 January / Session 3C
Tuesday 31 January / Session 4C

* / AA Open Week [Complementary Courses Suspended]

Tuesday 14 February / Session 1D
Tuesday 21 February / Session 2D
Tuesday 28 February / Session 3D
Tuesday 7 March / Session 4D - Final Session

Friday 23rd March, 1pm / MS First Year Portfolio Submission Deadline
Click here for submissions guidelines